Wednesday 8 August 2012


The ARCA OK Tire Sportsman series heads to Agassiz Speedway this weekend. Many thought that race 3 in Quesnel would be a deciding factor in the race for the 2012 ARCA championship, but not so much. The top 3 in points found themselves on the podium with few points gained or lost between the three. All of the top teams are firing on all cylinders and are ready for race 5 this Saturday. Local Ian Graham in the 18 car is looking forward to a solid run on his home track, however Mark Berriau is the defending winner of the race. Dave Olson, putting together a great season sits in third place, and we can't leave Ryley Seibert out for a possible win as he is the current track record holder. Points are tight all of the way through the top ten. Logan Jewel sits just out of the coveted top three and has been super consistent. Any issue with the top three and the 92 will break into one of the podium spots for sure. Bobby Mear, Trevor Adelman, Chris Babcock, and Sarah Cornett-Ching are separated by only 20 points and any one could find the fifth championship spot. Jeff Cameron sits in tenth overall with Barry Clayton in the 19 car only 15 points out of the top rookie spot. Cassandra Walker continues her rookie season learning the tracks and logging precious laps. Dan Ursel has the Lordco Ford running hard after mechanical issues early in the season. We expect to see some visiting cars in Agassiz, with the possibility of a couple past winners/champions making the starting list. This race will be pivotal for all of the ARCA series regulars. The top ten spots may well be sorted by the competitors' ability to make the best of their worst night. Will it take patience, aggression, or luck to win this championship? Come on out and see this Saturday night at Agassiz speedway.